Weekly email 7.7.2014: oooohhhhhh yeahhhhhh…..

Standard

Dear family,

So these last few weeks I have felt really tired… and kinda unmotivated. Plus nothing was seeming to work out and everything was falling through and our baptism fell through because our investigator got drunk. I was always too unmotivated to get up and actually do my exercises. But this week I decided that I needed to get more motivated and put my butt in gear because really this is a once in a life time experience! But another missionary had this quote and I copied it and read it 3 or 4 times a day. It’s called ”The fellowship of the unashamed” by Henry B. Eyring.
“I am part of the fellowship of the unashamed. The dye has been cast. I have stepped over the line. The decision has been made; I am a disciple of Jesus Christ. I won’t look back, let up, slow down, or be still. My past is redeemed, my present makes sense, and my future is secure. I’m finished and done with low living, small planning, smooth knees, colorless dreams, tinted visions, worldly talking, cheap giving, and dwarfed goals. I no longer need pre-eminence, positions, promotions, plaudits, or popularity. I don’t have to be right, first recognized, praised, regarded, or rewarded. I now live by faith, lean on His presence, walk with patience, am lifted up in prayer, and labor with power. My face is set, my goal is heaven. My road is narrow, my way is rough, my companions few, my guide is reliable, my mission is clear. I cannot be bought, compromised, detoured, lured away, divided or delayed, will not flinch in the face of sacrifice, hesitate in the presence of the adversary, negotiate at the table with the enemy, ponder at the pool of popularity, or meander in the maze of mediocrity. I won’t give up, shut up, or let up until I have stayed up, stored up, and paid up for the case of Christ. I must go till He comes, give till I drop, preach till all know, and work till He stops me. When He returns for His own He will have no problem recognizing me, my banner is clear”.

 

Reading this everyday changed my whole week. I got up everyday with a better attitude and worked out everyday. We hit 30 lessons this weeks, found 9 new investigators, and got 5 investigators to church. We doubled and tripled our numbers. We got a ton of work down and everything just seemed to be better because I changed my attitude. I didn’t get upset at all when our plans fell through. We just went and found someone else. I felt fine before but now I feel great. When I made up my mind to change, things changed. It takes a lot of diligence. I decided now is my time to show what I have learned in my mission because I only have less than 2 months.
The other day I had to teach in district meeting. We decided to talk about goals. A goal starts as a desire until it is written down and acted upon with faith. Our goals show our desires and our faith. If we don’t make our goals it’s because we lack faith. Goals have changed me. They are what have helped me the most in my mission. So if you don’t have your goals written down, you should… ha ha. I marked in my scriptures everytime that it says that God will give us according to our desires. It really bugged me for a long time because I didn’t feel like God was giving me according to my desires but I studied about Nephi when he wanted to see the vision of his father and how he achieved his ”goal.” It was all by his DESIRES and FAITH. He really believed.
Thought I would share these things with you all because they are the things that I have learned the most and the things that I have been trying to learn for a really long time. My letter is getting a little long but I will give you a little update on some of the ppl we are teaching.
We fasted with our investigator, Lorenzo, on Saturday and Sunday. He also got a blessing on Sunday from the members. He has been sick, has a really unsupporting family, and is trying to resist the urge to drink… We don’t know if he will get baptised but we pray for him everyday.
Our next baptism is coming up on the 19th. We are teaching the son, kevin, of our recent convert, Marlene.
Glad to hear you all had a good 4th of July! I didn’t do anything… but I remembered that it was 4th of July and sang the national anthem, really obnoxiously to my compy…. ha ha!
Love you all lots! Thats for the emails and letters!
Hermana Brittany Polatis

Leave a Reply

