Weekly email 6.9.2014

Standard
Dear family,

Well you know that cute little old guy that I was telling you about that was going to get baptised…. well of coarse he decides to move the week of his baptism because the altitude and the cold here are kinda killing him. He is originally from the jungle so he is going back there so he can die peacefully or something. But he are sending his reference on to the elders there in hopes that he still keeps going to church and stuff. And there goes our only progressing investigator….. Kinda depressing but its ok. All our other investigators are all kinda wishy washy. But we do have this really cool investigator named Carlos. We havent been able to teach him in two weeks because he is always so busy working and stuff but we stopped by his house yesterday and he was leaving to work but he has been reading the Book of Mormon. He told us that somebody keeps telling him to keep reading. He keeps having dreams of someone in white that keeps telling him to keep reading. I know in our culture we dont ever really talk about having dreams but hear its a lot different. People here always have these crazy dreams. But he is super awesome and a super open investigator.
Despite having lack of success with our investigators, our mission is to rescue less actives. I don’t know about other missions but in mine our president counts what is called ”a rescued” less active as a baptism. Or its equal to a baptism. We teach them all the lessons, they have to get interviewed by the bishop, and they have to come to church 2 or three times. We get them back on track with a calling and visiting teachers. We have about 8 families assigned to us by the bishop that we are working with. On Sunday we got out to pick them up for church. So that is what we are really focusing on too is the less actives because there are like a billion of them… Our ward had an activity on Sunday called the rescue. We all met in the church and went out in companionships with lists of less actives. And it turned out really good. We even got references from it.
Love you all!
Have a great week!
Hermana Polatis
Mary (a member) me and my compy! I helped mary pass her english class! We made a video talking in english

Mary (a member) me and my compy!
I helped mary pass her english class! We made a video talking in english

 

Got to drink my Hornimans... The best part is that peruvians have no idea...

Got to drink my Hornimans… The best part is that peruvians have no idea…

 

Yeah I dont know what happened either. I think all the rice went to my thighs... ha ha

Yeah I dont know what happened either. I think all the rice went to my thighs… ha ha

Leave a Reply

