Weekly email 3.17.2014: Peru just keeps getting better

Standard

Dear Familyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy…..

Happy St. Patty’s day! And Happy Birthday Grandma!

So I am guessing that you are all wondering what happened in transfers……well….. the good news is that I am not training again. Thank the Lord! I am so tired…. But my new companion is Sister Allred, from Clearfield, UT. She just finished her training and is quite the worker. I totally approve. She is super nice and humble. I will send pictures this next week!

Things went well this week I didn’t have a companion for almost 3 days. I had members go with me or other sisters that were waiting for thier companions too. Then finally Hna Allred came.

Did you know that everyone in Peru thinks that they are a doctor. Its actually really funny! So we have this investigator that has been pretty sick… She told us that she couldn’t come to church because she was getting ”cured” From what I understand she was going to strip naked and this witch doctor lady was going to come and rub a guinea pig all over her body, then you chew coke leaves, and smoke a cigar. And then it cures you! But you can’t leave the house for the day or you break out in rash… I feel so bad because I just want to burst out laughing! Other ”cures” that I heard from another sister missionary are: rub pee on your stomach to relieve gases. If you have a red face put breast milk from human on it. Oh and it goes on and on. Peru just keeps getting better.

Other happenings of this week is that we have a baptism coming up this week! Finally, Danuska is getting baptised! We finally got permission from her mother. She is 13 years old and the first time we met her she totally rejected us and told us that our church was false but then she started coming. I really don’t know why and this week is her baptism. She has changed a lot. At first I really hated teaching her. She was so crazy and didn’t listen and we thought. What is the point? But now she is super attentive and listens and is respectful. The things that happen in the mission continually surprise you! Sometimes baptisms just come out of no where….

Well folks. I do believe that it is my hour…

Until next week

My companions for the day! Medalit is like my best friend here! The other is Genoveva that just loves the missionaries. We go to visit her a lot. She always gives us cough drops. They eat them like candy here

My companions for the day! Medalit is like my best friend here! The other is Genoveva that just loves the missionaries. We go to visit her a lot. She always gives us cough drops. They eat them like candy here

Leave a Reply

