Weekly email 3.10.2014

Standard

Oh Dear family,

I am but a loner now. I am getting a new companion but not till Wednesday…. Transfers!!! These past 6 weeks have gone by soooooooo fast. I can´t believe that it is time for transfers again. I finally understand what people say when they say that the mission really does fly by in a moment. So here I am, my loner self. I might be training again because there is another big group of Hermanas coming but I will find out tonight!

This week we dropped a lot of investigators and went out to find. Our area is quite small but the mountain is huge. So we went climbing this week. My calfs are pretty sore! We contacted the whole world… ha ha well not quite but we went to new hieghts and climbed stairs that I have never climbed before. And we found some good results. We met this super awesome kid named Johnathan and his cousin Ruth. We taught him about the Plan of Salvation. Its the best when you teach people and they just look so entirely shocked and blown away by everything that you say. I asked him if he thinks that we existed before this earth? He looked at me dumb founded and said I have no idea. No one had ever asked me that before. He thinks that the Book of Mormon is like the coolest thing ever. I really hope things go well with him. He is only here on the weekends because he works way out in the mountains. You hope everyday in the mission to find people like him.

In contrast, we found this other girl named Vanessa. She is super Catholic but wanted to learn about our church. We taught her about the Book of Mormon. She looked pretty interested but won´t accept it and said that she would never come to our church. I asked her to pray about it. I also asked her, If God answered your prayer and told you that this was the right route for you to go would you listen? She said yes but at the same time refused to read the Book of Mormon. It’s kinda sad. But maybe we planted the smallest of seeds. You find all types in the mission. There is this 13 year old girl that we are teaching named Danuska. The first time we taught her she was super crazy and said that she would never get baptized in the church. But I don´t know what changed but she came to church and has kept coming. She now has a baptismal date. We are just having problems getting permission from her mother. They are super poor and the mom is scared that people in the church are going to discriminate against her. People here think that the ”mormon” church is full of rich people.

I love you all soooooooooooooooo much!

Hermana Polatis

Be tolerant, loving, kind, serve, pray for the needs of those around you and go out and help them.
David A. Bednar

 

 

Sunday lunch with my favorite family. Epi, my pensionista and her family. Then the Elders that are also in our ward. Elder Larsen and Elder Guerra. Elder Larsen is from Cali and I know Elder Guerra looks North American but he is from Lima

Sunday lunch with my favorite family. Epi, my pensionista and her family. Then the Elders that are also in our ward. Elder Larsen and Elder Guerra. Elder Larsen is from Cali and I know Elder Guerra looks North American but he is from Lima

 

me and the beautiful Hermana Sisson. All the Peruvians think that she is a model. I will miss this girl....

me and the beautiful Hermana Sisson. All the Peruvians think that she is a model. I will miss this girl….

Leave a Reply

