Weekly Letter 8.27.2013: oooooooooohhhhh yeah!

Standard

Dear Family,

 

This week we really turned things around! What a week! So after we had our baptisms last Saturday I was really happy but at the same time a little discouaraged because none of our other investigators are really progressing and we can never find them, our appointments always fall through. We haven´t found a lot of new investigators these past few weeks so we went into this last week determined to find lots of new investigators and we did! We found 12 new investigators this week, which is a miracle! Especially here is Tarma because the people here are a little bit more hard hearted and I swear everyone is catholic. We also had a super good week because we also had more lessons than I have ever had in a week. It’s wierd how things work in the mission. Some weeks are amazing and everyone lets you in their door and then the next week you get rejection after rejection. But all the same you keep going.

 

We also had a surprise visit from the sister coordinators. Right now in the mission there are a lot more sisters coming in so they have called 2 sister coordinators. One of them is my old companion, Sister Soliz. It really lifted my spirits to see my old companion and have other Hermanas around. We are the only Hermanas in our zone which gets pretty boring. They helped us clean out our apartment and then we went out on divisions. I went out with an Hermana named Hermana Bazan. We were looking for the house of a contact that we contacted the other day in the street but were not able to find him. All I knew is that his house was blue with 2 floors. We went down the street to find no blue houses, but this lady comes out of her house asking who we were looking for. She didn´t recognize the name but thought that we were looking for her. Come to find out she is a less active member of the church. She hasn´t been able to come to church since her husband passed away and works Sundays to pay the bills. She has been really struggling and going through a lot of dificulities since her husband passed away. She pretty much cried the whole time that we were there and we were able to answer her prayers. She really needed us in that moment and I know that God sent us to her. Sometimes plans and appointments fall through for a reason. From this experience I have gained a stronger testimony of the holy spirit and that this is God´s work. He will lead us where we need to go sometimes with out us even knowing it. So I spent the day with Hermana Bazan and in the evening I went out with Hermana Soliz! Oh how I have missed my old companion! I learned a lot from going out on divisions. Sometimes we get in a routine of teaching lessons and not people and teaching with them helped me realize that we need to work harder to find the needs of our investigators.

 

Make your week good! I love you all! Thanks for all the Dear Elders! I finally got a big stack that Lima East Mission forwarded to me! I am now on my way to La Merced for a multizone P day and tomorrow we are having a conference with President Henderson.

 

Con mucho amor,

 

Hermana Polatis

Leave a Reply

