Weekly email 3-5-2013: Oh Peru!

Standard

Dearest Family,

A few interesting facts about my life.

 

Favorite phrases in my district- ¡que en el mundo! What in the world!

And we always make fun of my teacher because he says ¨Español es muy facil. Para bebes!¨ I must be a baby because its definetly not easy for me. So we just go around saying it all the time. Curse grammer! ha ha! But the language is coming along!

 

Strangest food I have eaten- granadia… I don´t know if thats how you spell it but its really wierd. Its like grey colored brains. The outside is orange and you crack it then there are these slimy brains inside with crunchy seeds. You like suck it out! The taste isn´t bad but the texture is really weird.

 

Wow this week I am half way done with my training in the CCM. Kinda intimidating to think that I have to go join the real world in 3 weeks from today. I have so much to learn. The CCM is like an emotional rollercoaster sometimes! So many highs and lows of everyday! This Saturday we are going tracting again so that will be fun. Also can I just say that my district is the best!! We are all great friends and have a lot of fun together. Too bad we are all going to different missions. They all think I am kinda crazy. Elder Murphy told me I needed to go to a mental institution… ha ha but he just likes to mess with me. Hermana Killian, my dearest companion, also thinks I am a crazy. I get bored so whenever she looks at me I have to make creepy faces at her.

 

Our lessons with our investigators are going better and better. I might not have perfect grammer but I can speak a lot better. Even though our investigators are fake I have really realized how important it is to listen to the spirit as you plan your lesson and tailor it to the needs of your investigator. As we say here, Its muy importante!!! I have just learned to go with the flow and not just read a script. Our lessons have improved by leaps and bounds. Our investigators like to throw us lots of curve balls. It would be easier to react and explain in English but we do our best in Spanish. Like one gave me her bracelet with crosses all over it and try to give us money. They get really off topic!! Its hard to get them to listen! They go off and get a job at the club when they are supposed to stop drinking!! Its fun! ha ha.

 

Also while I am thinking of it. Could someone send me some stamps. I only have a few more left. And I can´t buy american stamps here. Which that probably means you mom!

 

Love you all,

Hermana Brittany Polatis

The Hermanas on the bus!
P1030971
Me and my Companion
P1030955
My District
P1030969
P1030963
p.s. Thanks for all your letters! Everyone is so mad because I get a lot more than they do. Muhahaha!
Leave a Reply

